News & Events
 Home > News And Events > Press Releases
Print Print   Email    

Press Releases

<< Return to List

OAAA Honors 2004 OBIE Winners

Washington, D.C. April 21, 2004 - At a gala reception and awards dinner last evening at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess Hotel, the Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA) unveiled its 62nd Annual OBIE Awards, which recognizes creative excellence in outdoor advertising and is the oldest and one of the most prestigious awards in the advertising world.

Best of Show honors were awarded to Crispin Porter + Bogusky of Miami, FL, for its work with IKEA that featured a series of billboards from the Retail category. The billboards were designed to resemble IKEA price tags with actual items, such as cabinets and chairs, hanging from the corner of the board. (See attached images)

"The best of show winner showcases the qualities that make the outdoor industry strong: innovative work that highlights the enormous creative potential that outdoor can offer," stated Nancy Fletcher, OAAA president and CEO.

In addition to Best of Show, an additional total of nine OBIEs were awarded in individual categories at last night’s ceremony. Adding to its OBIE in the retail category, Crispin Porter + Bogusky won a second OBIE in the Automobile category for the MINI Cooper series campaign as well. Also in the Automobile category, Arnold Worldwide was awarded an OBIE for its Volkswagen Cutaway billboard. Leo Burnett Company received two OBIE Awards, one for ComEd in the Business & Technology category, and one for its series campaign for Altoids in the Food & Restaurants category. A second OBIE in this category was also awarded to Young & Rubicam Advertising for The Campbell Soup Company shelter images. The International category recognized two agencies, Holmes & Lee for The Weather Network billboards, and TAXI for MINI Cooper Canada. In addition, The TAXI agency was recognized in the Special F/X category for its NIKE Canada trash can concept.

Twenty-two Merit and 33 Finalist certificates were also awarded.


<< Return to List